Pitch Black Friday

Black Friday is exactly 2 weeks away. And this year I am extremely excited, and I am extremely sad at the exact same time. I have crazy mixed emotions. Number one, Black Friday means all sales should occur on Friday. Last year my boyfriend, cousin, and sister all waited from 9:45pm until midnight just to get into Best Buy. The year before that we waited from midnight until 5:00am to get a TV. And we thought THAT was crazy. Well guess what? CRAZY has obtained all new meaning this year.

Both Walmart and Best Buy have their doorbusters set to release at 6:00pm Thanksgiving night.

Does that count as Black Friday??

I don’t think so. 

Other businesses such as Macy’s and Kohl’s are set to begin their sales at 8:00pm on Thanksgiving night. Which still blows my mind. I completely understand that the Thanksgiving holiday is nothing short of an excuse to host a huge Turkey dinner and stuff our faces until we can’t fit into our jeans any more, but it is also a time for family to join together after a year of avoiding each other. (That was a complete joke, I love my family.) This new ritual of creating a “fake” Black Friday really bums me out. I want to enjoy Thanksgiving dinner and like many others I have to make the rounds to different family member’s homes – those of my boyfriend and my own family. So how in the world am I supposed to do this when my shopping needs to begin at 6:00pm?!? That’s when my second dinner is set to start!

Luckily, none of the potentially awesome deals starting at 6:00pm include things I actually need. (I mean, do I want Beats Headphones for only $114.99? Yes. Do I need them? Unfortunately, no.) So I get to plan my Black Friday shopping after my family gathering calms down. This is a way to get my Christmas shopping done a month early, AND walk around and get some exercise after eating my weight in mash potatoes and stuffing.

Here is my schedule:
8:45pm – Kohl’s
10:00pm – Best Buy
12:00am – Macy’s

One of my favorite sites for Black Friday ads, Pre-Black Friday is BlackFriday.com. It gets tons of the ads early, and you can sign up for emails when they receive new ones. Here are the 6 that I looked at when making my Black Friday plan.

Just remember this entire holiday is supposed to be a fun thing for the family. So, don’t let Black Friday and the ideas of “SALE” and “60% OFF” cloud your vision. Spend time with your loved ones, and bring them shopping with you! đŸ˜‰ This is a season to be thankful for everything we have, and how lucky we are to be alive. Pile your plate high, get your shopping shoes on, and remember to thank your family for well, putting up with you and your shop-a-holic ways!

  

   

More information about the financial side of Black Friday: Yahoo Finance! and Yahoo Finance 2!
Fearlessly

Leave a comment