The 5:2 Diet – The Beginning

I have been working out for the past 3 weeks very religiously. I have gotten up in the morning, gone to the gym and suffered through a long day at work. I have spent the time running after work. I have put in the time, and still have not seen any success on the scale. Overall, I physically feel better, but the weight and inches are still there. So, I did some research. The first article I came across was “I Tried 10 Diets in 50 Days,” one that made me laugh and inspired me all at the same time. Not only did Andy succeed and lose 25 pounds in 50 days, but he also gave me hope that some of these fad diets really do not work. Although there was a little bit of hope, a few diets did help him lose around 5 pounds in a short amount of time. Now, I understand that these diets are not something that people end up sticking to, and I am fully aware of the possible hazards of diets like this. But, the one diet that was extremely interesting to me was The 5:2 Diet.

The Initial Thoughts: 
Eating 500 calories for 2 nonconsecutive days a week made me sit back and think, “This is way too good to be true.” I couldn’t grasp the concept clearly by just reading initial descriptions of this diet. But it was intriguing.

The Reviews:
And a lot of reviews say it is just too good to be true. Some people lost weight, some didn’t. Some were able to stick to this diet, others weren’t. Health experts claim both positive and negative ramifications of intermittent fasting. But I am determined to see for myself.

The Plan:
I have a goal of trying this diet for 2 weeks. That means I have to go through 4 days with eating only 500 calories. Tomorrow is my very first day trying this new diet. I am going to try my hardest to blog each and every day of my new physical exploration, in addition to my physical activity during this initial week.

The Menu:
– Breakfast: 3 egg whites and 1 tbsp of ketchup (70 calories)
– Lunch: 1 can of Light Zesty Santa Fe Style Chicken Progresso Soup (160 calories)
– Dinner: Lean Cuisine – Spaghetti and Meatballs (270 calories)
– At least 6 shakers full of water

The Workout:
I am going to work out tomorrow morning at the gym for about an hour. I am going to focus on biceps tomorrow and take Wednesday off, just in case I do not feel up to the gym. I might go for a run Wednesday night, after I re-energize myself with some food.
That’s a lie. I did not go to the gym this morning, but I am going to try to succeed with a work out video tonight and some abs. I’m going to try to get to the gym Wednesday morning, but have some toast first, of course.

The Aftermath:
My goal for Wednesday is to have a low calorie cereal for breakfast and make sure I am hydrating and keeping my eating at a normal, 1200 – 1400 calorie limit. I do not want to over eat after my day of 500 calories, like every review warned me about.

The Ending Thoughts:
I am honestly nervous that I am going to get hungry around 3:00pm tomorrow and not be able to curb my appetite with tea, water, etc. I am going to try to eat breakfast at work around 10:00am and use green tea and my metabolic tea in the early morning to help me NOT feel hungry. I will have my soup lunch around 1:30pm – 2:00pm that way I am not tempted to eat anything around that tantalizing 3:00pm period. Hopefully, I can sustain myself with a 6:00pm dinner and get to bed early.

Wish me luck on my first day of this crazy new lifestyle. Let’s see if I can pull it all off!

Fearlessly

Leave a comment